Pick n Pay launches paid Smart Shopper Pro subscription at R99 in competition with Checkers
Read more
TechCentral
techcentral.co.za

Pick n Pay launches paid Smart Shopper Pro subscription at R99 in competition with Checkers

Pick n Pay has introduced a paid tier for its Smart Shopper loyalty program, which will cost R99 per month. This price matches the cost offered by Shoprite for Xtra Savings Plus, the paid version of the Checkers and Shoprite loyalty program.

Smart Shopper Pro Program Details

The new program, named Smart Shopper Pro, was announced on Thursday. It offers participants unlimited free delivery of orders via asap! over R350, triple points on fresh produce, double points on BP fuel, and an additional 10% discount on in-store purchases, limited to R200 monthly. Customers can register through the asap! app. The basic Smart Shopper program remains free.

The set price of R99 is introductory, and at the time of the announcement on Friday, it was not specified whether the Pro cost would change in the future or when the promotional price would end.

It should be noted that the 10% discount has certain limitations: Pick n Pay states that it applies to maximum spending of R2,000 within a single purchase, implying a limit on the discount per store visit, rather than total store expenditure.

The terms of this program are largely similar to the offerings of Checkers Xtra Savings Plus, which Shoprite introduced in 2023. It includes unlimited free Sixty60 delivery on orders over R350 and a 10% discount on one in-store purchase per month, up to R200.

Pick n Pay claims that customers who frequently use online shopping can recoup the subscription fee just from the delivery costs. Company representatives noted: 'For customers who order groceries online weekly, four deliveries a month will cost R148 for delivery alone.'

Vince Viviers, Head of Innovation and Digital Transformation at Pick n Pay, stated that 'customers are increasingly looking for practical ways to make their money go further.'

Competition with Sixty60

The Pro program integrates with the free Live Well club within Smart Shopper. Members of both programs can earn six times more standard points when purchasing certain items such as fresh fruits, vegetables, fish, and chicken. New users who subscribe before November 30th will receive a R99 discount on their next asap! order.

This launch occurred a few days after Pick n Pay reported a 35.4% increase in its online sales over the six months ending August 30th. This figure aligns with the 34.5% growth in Sixty60 reported by Shoprite for the year ending in June. However, Pick n Pay did not disclose specific financial data about its online business. It is worth noting that Sixty60's revenue reached R25.5 billion.

Shoprite uses its own Xtra Savings Plus tier at R99 to retain loyal customers. Initially, the AI shopping assistant Pixie was only available to paid subscribers.

Now both retailers face a cheaper competitor—Amazon Prime, which launched in South Africa in June. It costs R59 per month and includes free delivery as well as Prime Video streaming.

Similar stories

Online sales at Pick n Pay grew amid slight increase in store sales
Read more
techcentral.co.za

Online sales at Pick n Pay grew amid slight increase in store sales

Online sales for Pick n Pay increased by 35.4% over the six months ending August 30th. This figure matches the growth rate previously reported by Shoprite for its Checkers Sixty60 service in the last financial year. However, the retailer, which presented interim results on Monday, did not disclose specific financial data for this segment, making it impossible to assess the extent of the progress.

Pick n Pay described the online sector as 'another outstanding result.' It became the fastest-growing segment of the business, although the total turnover remained unchanged. Revenue in the Pick n Pay segment, excluding the Boxer discount chain, amounted to 36.4 billion rand and did not change. Meanwhile, in-store sales, adjusted for store openings and closures, grew by 2.4% in the company's supermarkets in South Africa.

In the financial year, Shoprite's Sixty60 sales grew by 34.5%, reaching 25.5 billion rand. This amount accounts for about 9.4% of the group's total turnover and, according to TechCentral estimates, exceeds one-third of Shoprite's own growth.

Pick n Pay added clothing to its asap! app, which generated turnover 'significantly above' the planned budget. Penny—a chat assistant for purchases based on Google's Gemini models—was also introduced, allowing customers to build a basket by communicating via voice, text, or by photographing a recipe, shopping list, or empty shelf in the pantry.

Pick n Pay reported that Penny contributed to improved order conversion and an increase in the average transaction value but did not provide specific figures. The company positions Penny as 'the first fully integrated AI-powered grocery shopping assistant in South Africa.'

Shoprite implemented its own assistant, Pixie, in Sixty60 in April. Initially, Pixie focused on predicted repeat orders, while Penny surpassed it due to support for text, voice, and visual input; however, Shoprite closed this gap in August. In July, Shoprite noted that 98% of paying members of the Xtra Savings Plus program, who were the sole users of Pixie at that time, tested it within three months.

Losses are shrinking

The group's total loss decreased by 31.9% to 299 million rand, despite a 2.4% increase in turnover to 60.5 billion rand. Pick n Pay's own operating losses reduced to 516 million rand from 621 million rand. Pick n Pay's business operating expenses rose by 5% to 2.2 billion rand, partly due to the increased cost of diesel fuel and electricity.

The group suspended the Section 189A retrenchment process initiated in May after reaching an agreement with trade unions regarding a new staffing model in stores. The company aims to achieve break-even for Pick n Pay's business by the 2029 financial year.

Popular